Guess who’s making bike stuff now?

You pretty much already know that I like bicycles; you’re currently on this blog and that is my focus. Outside of that, I also like Motul, the lubricants and fluids brand. From motor oil to brake fluid and even manual transmission fluid, my cars have used the French company’s products for years.

So you can imagine the look of pleasant surprise I had when I saw this on my Facebook feed.

Apparently, with this key visual, Motul just announced their line of bicycle-specific lubricants and cleaners. And it’s quite the product lineup.

Two of the images on the Facebook post seem to be halves of a larger whole. On the left we have a frame clean spray, a “dry clean” spray (perhaps a type of no-rinse bike wash, like similar products for cars), and a chain degreaser spray.

A spray bottle in the middle has been unfortunately bisected, but a little digging reveals it’s a disc brake cleaner. On the right side, we have what appears to be their tubeless tire sealant and two types of chain lube, wet and dry – both in drip bottles.

Apart from DOT 5.1 brake fluid for SRAM’s hydraulic disc brakes, which is in no way specific to bicycles, I don’t think Motul has ever made anything like this before. They’ve even numbered the bottles 1, 2, and 3, to correspond to the sequence in which you’re meant to use them: degrease the chain and brakes first; then wash the bike; then finish with re-lubrication.

I love that the bike in the photos is a old Specialized Secteur with Shimano Tiagra 4600 components and rim brakes. Lends more cred to these products being maintenance items.

Pretty interesting, if you ask me, and this is totally not sponsored. I just have great experience with Motul in my cars, even back in the years when I was an active time attack driver. I hope these products are just as good.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.